Mee Kuah

This is one dish that I can proudly declare to be handed down from my mum (Finally I can say I have hope in slowly following her footsteps in yummy cooking ;p) Of course, I have improvised the dish. It is one of Princess’ fave dishes and asks that I make it regularly (Dont you love it when your children ask more of your cooking? ;)) 

I look forward to the day when I can pass down this recipe to any of my brood and expect to taste their versions. The highlight of this dish are the garnishes. My mum even had an elaborate dish plate for the various garnish but fuss-free me opted for L&L compartment container 😉 And its always daddy who prepares the garnishes as the cucumber and omelette need precision cutting/ slicing which is simply beyond me ;p

I find this super  easy to make despite it looking elaborate ;>

Ingredients

  • Cabbage leaves
  • Minced mutton (chicken or beef can do as well)
  • Tomato puree
  • Chilli paste
  • Minced ginger and garlic 
  • Noodles- yellow egg noodles and white kuay teow are my choices

Garnishes

  • Omelette (sliced thinly)
  • Coriander and spring onion (chopped finely)
  • Cucumber (peeled and sliced thinly)
  • Lime
  • Fried shallots
Steps
  1. Boil cabbage leaves
  2. While waiting for cabbage to be cooked, heat oil. Saute ginger and garlic. 
  3. Add chilli paste and fry well
  4. Add tomato puree and mix thoroughly
  5. Add minced meat and stir well
  6. Add cabbage leaves and some water
  7. Leave to simmer
  8. Prepare garnishes

When serving, mix noodles with the gravy in separate pot. Add to plates and top with garnishes. You can add more gravy if preferred. ENJOY! ;D

Leave a Reply

